Emily R. King

VOYA- June 2017 Issue

VOYA ran a review of The Hundredth Queen in their June issue! They said fans of Marissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo will find this new series captivating. They are two of my favorite authors! I’ve included the full review, but also, here’s the pull quote.

“A gripping plot with twists and turns, a unique setting, and strong female characters—a solid foray into the fantasy romance genre.” –VOYA

Full review:

King, Emily R. The Hundredth Queen, Book 1. Skyscape, 2017. 300p. $9.99 Trade pb. 978-1-5039-4365-0.

This new fantasy series opens with Kalinda and Jaya, eighteen-year-old best friends, sparring in a courtyard of the Samiya Temple. The Sisterhood trains young women to spend their lives as the wives or courtesans of wealthy men known as the Benefactors, but Kalinda and Jaya would much rather remain together in their Temple home in the mountains than be chosen by a Benefactor and separated forever. In spite of their plan to perform poorly in their skills demonstrations, and thus be consigned to remain at Samiya, Kalinda is chosen to be the one hundredth queen of a powerful rajah. In accordance with legend, the one hundredth queen is to be his last, but to secure the position, Kalinda must battle to the death whichever of the rajah’s courtesans wants to challenge her. Mysterious magical rebels, known as the Bhutas, and a handsome, young imperial guard combine to complicate her path to the throne, as well as teach her about herself and her roots.

This title offers a gripping plot with twists and turns, a unique setting, and strong female characters—a solid foray into the fantasy romance genre. Fans of Marissa Meyer and Leigh Bardugo will find this new series captivating.—Laura Lehner.

USA TODAY, Happy Ever After

The Hundredth Queen releases today!

To celebrate, I’m on USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog for an interview. It’s been a busy year, but I am so grateful for this opportunity to become a published author. Thanks to my family and friends, but especially my agent, Marlene Stringer, and my editor, Jason Kirk. They changed my life forever!

Happy reading!

 

Interview at The Reading Addict

I’m at The Reading Addict’s blog talking about Diet Coke and strong heroines!

Sunday News

I was in Deseret News today, as well as The Salt Lake Tribune!

Deseret News:

20170528_100047

Salt Lake Tribune:

20170528_10011320170528_095852

Author Spotlight

ab6250_d277dbf6b75348e3a4fa274b60594408-mv2

Megan LaCroix is hosting me on her blog. In this interview, I talk about magic systems, female friendships in YA, and my experience writing my second book.

Interview is HERE.

YA Books Central- Interview, Excerpt, & Giveaway

tumblr_static_yabclogo22

YA Books Central has me over for a chat, as well as an excerpt and giveaway. See their post here.

YA & Wine Interview & Signed Book Giveaway

69f26274-31ca-479b-a4d4-d2003b3b9132

Krysti at YA & Wine has interviewed me about my writing process and how I came up with the concept for The Hundredth Queen. She’s also holding a giveaway for a signed copy of my book. Check out the interview here.

Goodreads Giveaway

The Hundredth Queen

A Goodreads giveaway is happening all month long for The Hundredth Queen.

Enter here!

Mad for Books Luv Fest

C9NJdLRV0AA6KDV

Who is my cover designer, and what would I be doing if I wasn’t a writer? I answer these questions and more! Visit the interview here.

Author Interview

09vIxewh

I’m at Wild Mind Creative discussing motherhood, community, and of course, writing. Check it out!